top of page

Astanga Yoga


Question: Sir.. Can you please explain the Astanga Yoga..  Especially prathyahaara, dharana, dhyana and samadhi..?

Answer: In the Astana yoga, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana and samadhi are called as andhar yoga. You can say that these are the four stages of inner travel. The first stage is pratyahara (withdrawal of mind from senses). In the beginning, it will be difficult to withdraw your mind from senses without any support. Hence, it is advised to focus your attention on your breathing, life force or any object. As the origin of the mind is life force, it is better to focus your attention on life force. This is the direct way.

The second stage is dharana (concentration). Actually, if you concentrate on your breathing, life force or any object, your mind will be withdrawn from senses. Therefore, if you try for dharana, pratyahara happens automatically. In this stage, your mind will go out through senses. You have to bring it back and concentrate on the object with effort.

If the focus happens without effort, it is called dhyana. Focus with effort is concentration. Focus without effort is meditation. When you meditate deeply, you will reach the base of the life force. That stage is called samadhi. You can compare this andhar yoga with states of mental frequency. Alpha state is pratyahara. Theta state is dharana and Delta state is dhyana. If you go beyond Delta, it is Samadhi.

Good Morning ... Travel inwardly... 💐

Venkatesh - Bangalore


245 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Problems in relationships

12.8.2015 Question: Sir..I am again and again stuck with problems in the relationship which affects my career/life too. I'm often being questioned myself... What if my partner takes advantage of me an

Did Krishna die?

11.8.2015 Question: Sir, We also have heard that Krishna was also mortal. It is said that he had an eye in the sole of his feet and after the Mahabharata war he was sleeping under a tree one fine day.

Mechanism of Siddhis

10.8.2015 Question: Sir, we have heard that Krishna was a great yogi. He had thousands of siddis. And he would be able to appear in many places simultaneously. How does this mechanism work and how cou


bottom of page